H O M E Record Search / GIS Map General Info Tax & Exemptions Forms Web Links Contact Us

Property Tax Exemptions
Tangible Personal Property
Tax Rates
TAX Estimator

Tax Rates

Taxing Districts
Taxing districts are geographic areas of the county in which property taxes are levied at the same rate. Each of the incorporated cities in Lafayette County is a taxing district.

In an unincorporated area of the county, the millage levy includes the rates levied by the Lafayette County Commission, the Lafayette County School Board, and the South Florida Water Management District.

Inside each city, the millage levy includes these same rates, plus the millage rate levied by that respective City Commission.

Lafayette County 15.6273
Town of Mayo 22.6273

Millage Rates
Taxing authorities levy annual taxes on the taxable property in their jurisdictions. The rate at which a taxing authority levies tax is usually expressed in mils. "One mil" represents a rate of 0.001, and can be confusing if millage is confused with millage rate. The easiest way to think of millage is in "dollars per thousand"; that is, a rate of one mil is equal to one dollar of tax for each 1000 dollars of taxable value. The following example may be helpful.

For example, if a taxing authority levies 10 mils on $1000 of taxable value, the millage levy would be expressed as "10 mils". The millage rate is calculated as 0.010 (0.001 x 10) and the amount of tax on each $1000 would the be $1000 x 0.010 = $10.00. This means that "10 mils" generates $10 of tax revenue for each $1000 of taxable value.

Millage rates are set each year during the budget hearings held by each of the taxing authorities. Two public hearings are held each year, usually July through September, at which time budgets and tax rates are set. The meetings are advertised and are open to the public.

Lafayette County 15.6273
Public Schools 5.316
Town of Mayo 22.6273
Suwannee River WMD
(Levied in most of the county)

Street Address Office Hours Mailing Address
Lafayette County Property Appraiser
120 West Main Street
Mayo, FL 32066
386-294-1991 -phone
386-294-1106 -fax
8:00am - 5:00pm (Mon-Fri, except holidays)
Lafayette County Property Appraiser
PO Box 6
Mayo, FL 32066
The information on this website was derived from data which was compiled by the Lafayette County Property Appraiser Office solely for the governmental purpose of property assessment. This information should not be relied upon by anyone as a determination of the ownership of property or market value. No warranties, expressed or implied, are provided for the accuracy of the data herein, it's use, or it's interpretation. Although it is periodically updated, this information may not reflect the data currently on file in the Property Appraiser's office.
© Lafayette County Property Appraiser | Wayne McCray, CFA | Mayo, Florida | 386-294-1991 by GrizzlyLogic.com (g4)